Further Education Training Certificate - Telecommunications Network Operations (12 months – NQF Level 4 – 132 credits)

Programme description

  • All fundamental unit standards are compulsory for this qualification (56 credits)
  • All core unit standards are compulsory (65 credits)
  • Elective component (11 credits)

Course outline

  • All core and fundamental unit standards are compulsory to achieve competence in this qualification, except for the Elective clusters. There are nine clusters of which eight provide a variety of specialisations for the learner to choose from.
  • The following clusters apply to specialisation areas. The learner must obtain all the unit standards of the specific cluster to obtain the qualification.
  • Elective Cluster 1: Specialisation Area 1
    • ICT Network Management and Surveillance – Customer Care in the context of IT Support
  • Elective Cluster 2: Specialisation Area 2
    • TCP/IP Networks – Perform operations on Internet Protocol Networks
  • Elective Cluster 3: Specialisation Area 3
    • Customer Premises Equipment (CPE) Installation and Maintenance – Equipment Installation and fault clearance, recover customer equipment
  • Elective Cluster 4: Specialisation Area 4
    • Transport Systems – Understanding of Telecommunications Concepts and Principles, Operational activities on SDH_PDH systems, Indoor Optical Fibre Testing

  • Specialisation Cluster 5: Specialisation Area 5
    • Telecommunication Cable Maintenance – Operate pressurized transmission mediums, Operate Non-Metallic Telecommunication Media, Maintain Metallic Telecommunications Cables
  • Cluster 6: Specialisation Area 6
    • Telecommunication Cable Installation – Terminate Metallic Communication Cables, install distribution point cable, Erect and haul optic cables for telecommunications purposes, Join Metallic Telecommunication Cables, Test Metallic Communication Cables
  • Cluster 7: Specialisation Area 7
    • Telecommunication line operations – lightning and power protection for structures or equipment, perform operational activities on Telecommunication lines near overhead power lines
  • Cluster 8: Specialisation Area 8
    • Indoor Plant Installation – Site installation preparation, Installation of small network elements, Installation of large network elements
  • Cluster 9: Specialisation Area 9 (Supplementary – Unit standards to the amount of 11 credits may be selected from this cluster to make up the 132 required credits of the qualification

How will you benefit?

This qualification will equip learners to perform functions in the following areas:

  • The network environment within the telecommunications industry
  • Specialisation areas, the management and surveillance of information and Communication Technology Networks
  • Transmission Control Protocol/Internet Protocol Networks Operations
  • Installation and maintenance of customer premises equipment
  • Operation of Telecommunications Transport Systems
  • Maintenance of communication cables
  • Installations of telecommunication cables
  • Operation of telecommunication lines and installation of network elements


  • Completion of Portfolio of Evidence, which will be assessed, moderated and verified by MICT (Media Information, Communication Technology) SETA
  • Certificate of Competence will be issued by MICT to competent learners
Sokonetech Banner